The town of Ross-on-Wye is known for its independent shops, picturesque streets and market square with its market hall. Regular Thursday and Saturday markets are held at the red sandstone Market House building in the town centre, which was built between 1650 and 1654 replacing the older, probably wooden Booth Hall. The upper storey of the Market House now houses a Visitor Centre.
Ground floor is open with an arcade of 6 bays on the North and South sides and 2 at each end. Round arches with Doric columns, with half columns as responds. At East end 2 windows, each with 3 round headed lights and between them a round recess with keyblocks and bust.
At Nest end, a similar window and 4 rectangular sunk panels formerly finished with pediments and scrolls now weathered away. Similar window in North and South walls. In centre of North wall is a round-headed door opening onto a recessed balcony with panelled and carved posts and turned balusters to the railings. On South wall near the East end is a carved monogram with the initials F C or T C.
The clock tower was a later addition and dates from the 18th Century although it may well have replaced an earlier structure removed due to problems sealing it with the roof.
In South West bay is a staircase in a panelled enclosure, with straight strings, turned balusters, wide handrail and square newels. Upstairs a range of 4 oak posts, carved as diminishing Ionic pilasters support the roof.