LoginJoin us
Forgot Password
Add to Collection

Mansilla and Tunon Architects

1 of 1

Luis M. Mansilla (1959-2012) and Emilio Tunon Alvarez (1959) founded Mansilla + Tunon Architects in 1992. Mansilla + Tunon Architects is a Madrid based office, dedicated to the confrontation of theory, and academic practice, with design and building activity. They have received the Mies van der Rohe Award and the Spanish Architecture Award.

Emilio Tunon and Luis Mansilla have developed most of their academic carrer at the Architectural Design Department of the Architecture School of Madrid, as full professors. Additionally, they have taught as visiting faculty at Princeton University School of Architecture (springs 2008, 2009 and 2010), Harvard Graduate School of Design (spring 2006), Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (spring 2005), Barcelona International Architecture School (2001-2002), Frankfurt Stadelschule (1997-1998), Architecture San Pablo CEU Fundation (2000-2001), Barcelona Architecture School (1999-2000), New Puerto Rico Architecture School (summer 2000) and Navarra Architecture School (springs 1999 and 2011).

In 1993 they created the thought exchange cooperative CIRCO, for which they publish a bulletin of the same name. This bulletin has been awarded the following awards: FAD Award (2007), 3rd. Iberoamerican Architecture and Engineering Biennial Publication Prize (2002) and COAM Annual Prize for Cultural Initiatives Award (1995).

Mansilla + Tunon have won the following architecture competitions: International Center of Visigothic Culture in Toledo(2010), Energy Dome in the Enviromental City in Soria (2008), C.I.C.C.M. International Congress Center of Madrid (2007), Museum of Migrations in Algeciras (2007), Helga de Alvear Foundation in Caceres (2005), Urban Planning for Valbuena in Logrono (2004), Public Library in Calle de los Artistas in Madrid (2003), Museum of Cantabria in Santander (2002), Spanish Royal Collections Museum in Madrid (2002), Sanfermines Museum in Pamplona (2001), Cultural Center in Brescia (2000), Castellon Fine Arts Museum (1998), Leon's Concert Hall (1996), Madrid's Regional Cultural Center (1995).

Their projects include Lalin Town Hall (2011), Atrio Hotel in Caceres (2010), Helga de Alvear Foundation in Caceres (2010), Twin Houses in Tarifa (2009), Pedro Barrie de la Maza Foundation in Vigo (2005), MUSAC in Leon (2004), Leon Auditorium (2003), Madrid Regional Documentary Center (2002), Castellon Fine Arts Museum (2000), Indoor Swiming-Pool in San Fernando de Henares (1998) and Zamora Museum (1996).

Their work has been awarded the following prizes: FAD Award 2011, Aplus Award 2011, AD Architectural Digest Award (2009), Mies van der Rohe Award (2007), FAD award (2007), Saloni Award (2007), VIA award (2006), Spanish Architecture Award (2003), FAD Award (2001), COACV Award (2000), Excellent Work Award (2000), First Iberoamerican Architecture and Engineering Bienal (1998), Foundation CEOE Award (1997) and Arquitecti Award (1996).

Luis M. Mansilla passed away in Barcelona on February 22nd 2012.

View article
  1. Architect Website
gemazzz, March 7th, 2013
View article