Keywords Change this


Birth date / place

November 28th 1948, Postojna, Slovenia

Selected Architecture

Practice / Active in Change this

Kras, Slovenia

Linked to Change this

Marko Dekleva
Vojteh Ravnikar
Egon Vatovec

Awards Change this

  • 1989 - Piranesi Prize
  • 1990 - Prešeren Prize for renovation and interior of the building of the administrative district Piran and the Gallery Avgust Černigoj in Lipica, designed in 1986
  • 1997 - Plečnik medal for the renovation of the Prešeren square, Koper.

Matjaž Garzarolli Change this

Change thisKras, Slovenia
born 1948, Postojna
1 of 2

About Change this

Matjaž Garzarolli was among the most active in his generation at the Faculty of Architecture in Ljubljana. He was one of students of Edvard Ravnikar.

Group Kras

Matjaž Garzarolli, Marko Dekleva, Vojteh Ravnikar and Egon Vatovec founded the Karst group in 1976. In 1980 they received the Prešeren award projects Vremenski Britof and the Municipal Building in Sežana.

Independent Institutions

In the 1980s, Garzarolli was among the founders of the International Piran Architecture Days and among people who took over the editorial board of the AB magazine. He was also the co-founder of the Foundation Max Fabiani.

Garzarolli received the Plečnik medal for the arrangement of the Gallery Avgust Černigoj in Lipica and the Palace of the Piran Municipal Building in 1990. In 1997 he received the Plečnik medal for the renovation of the Prešeren square in Koper.


Register to join to conversation.