Keywords Change this

Add this

Birth date / place

December 3rd 1952, Písek, Czech Republic

Selected Architecture

Practice / Active in Change this

AP Atelier
Komunardu 1529/5
170 00 Prague, Czech Republic


Article last edited by Bostjan on
April 23rd, 2014

Josef Pleskot Change this

Change thisPrague, Czech Republic
born 1952, Písek
1 of 1

About Change this

Josef Pleskot (born 3 December 1952 in Písek) is a Czech architect. He is known mainly as the designer of the pedestrian tunnel in the Deer Moat at the Prague Castle, and administrative building of the ČSOB in Prague. In 2009, he was voted the most significant Czech architect of the 1989-2009 period.

From 1973 to 1979 he studied at the Faculty of Architecture of the Czech Technical University in Prague. Already as a student he attended several architectonic competitions, and in 1975 he won the first prize in the Young Architects Competition. Following his studies he worked as a teacher at the same school (Department of the Architectural Theory and Development). The 1980s he spent at the Krajský projektový ústav in Prague, in the atelier G-16. In 1991 he briefly came back to teach at the Czech Technical University. However, the same year he co-founded his own studio - the AP Atelier. The first success came in 1993, when the AP Atelier was awarded the honorable mention in the Grand Prix competition of the Czech Chamber of Architects. Pleskot won his first Grand Prix in 1995, for the reconstruction and completion of the town hall in Benešov. In 1997 he became a member of the Mánes Union of Fine Arts. He works together with 12 colleagues in his team - the AP Atelier.

In his designs, Pleskot was inspired by the Czech modern architecture. In 1980s he also studied the possibilities of the postmodern architecture and architectural neofunctionalism.

In 2009, the Czech magazine Reflex conducted a survey, in which 70 architects, theorists of architecture and art historians were asked to name the most significant personality of the Czech architecture in the period from 1989 (the fall of the communist régime) to 2009. Pleskot convincingly won.



Register to join to conversation.