Keywords Change this

Pritzker Prize


1995, Tokyo, Japan

Selected Architecture

Practice / Active in Change this

1-5-27 Tatsumi
Koto-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Linked to Change this

Toyo Ito

SANAA Change this

Change thisKoto-ku, Tokyo, Japan
est. 1995, Tokyo

Kazuyo Sejima by Annie Leibovitz for Vogue

1 of 3

About Change this

Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa have been working collaboratively under the name ‘Sanaa’ since 1995. Sejima studied architecture at the Japan Women's University before collaborating with architect Toyo Ito. She launched her own practice in 1987 and was named ‘Young Architect of the Year’ in Japan in 1992.

Nishizawa studied architecture at Yokohama National University and, in addition to his work with Sejima, has also maintained an independent practice since 1997.

Sejima and Nishizawa have been awarded many prizes such as the ‘Gold Lion’ at Venice Biennale (2004) and the ‘Arnold Brunner ’ medal of the American Academy of Arts and Letters (2002). In 2010 the were awarded the Pritzker Prize.


Register to join to conversation.