Keywords Change this

Add this

Birth date / place

Konstanz, Germany

Selected Architecture

Practice / Active in Change this

Sauerbruch Hutton
Lehrter Straße 57
10557 Berlin, Germany

Linked to Change this

Rem Koolhaas
Sauerbruch Hutton
Louisa Hutton

Matthias Sauerbruch Change this

Change thisBerlin, Germany
born Konstanz
1 of 2

About Change this

Matthias Sauerbruch (born in 1955 in Konstanz, Germany) is a director of Sauerbruch Hutton, which he founded in 1989 together with Louisa Hutton in London. Based in Berlin since 1993, the practice currently employs about 100 staff and is engaged in a number of projects throughout Europe. Their work has become well known for its serious engagement with issues of sustainability, as well as the creation of sensual spaces and signature facades. Sauerbruch Hutton are best known for the GSW Headquarters building in Berlin (1999) and the Federal Environmental Agency in Dessau (2005).

Sauerbruch Hutton's projects have been awarded a number of prizes, and were subject of numerous exhibitions and publications worldwide. Louisa Hutton and Matthias Sauerbruch received the Erich Schelling Prize for Architecture in 1998, and the Fritz Schumacher Prize for Architecture in 2003. Matthias has been teaching Architecture as a unit master at the Architectural Association London. From 1995 to 2007 he has been holding chairs at the Technical University of Berlin and at the State Academy of Art and Design Stuttgart. Matthias has served on international juries, and lectures at many institutions and universities worldwide.


Register to join to conversation.